vlt Open Source Maintainer Program

Live
Last updated · Update this page

The vlt Open Source Maintainer Program provides approved maintainers with a free vlt Pro account, 10 GB of monthly storage and delivery usage, and priority support. It reduces package infrastructure costs; it does not provide cash funding.

Eligibility. Primary maintainers or core team members of public repositories qualify under the stated criteria if the repository has at least 1,000 GitHub stars or 100,000 monthly npm downloads, and has had commits within the past six months. Significant contributors to foundational JavaScript or Node.js projects may also apply based on sustained contributions. vlt invites maintainers of ecosystem dependencies who do not fit those criteria to explain their case.

Application and renewal. Apply through the form linked from the program page, providing a GitHub profile and project details. vlt says applications are reviewed on a rolling basis, with a response expected within two weeks. Approved applicants receive an account invitation. The free account renews annually while the recipient continues actively maintaining open source. Approval is not guaranteed.

The program page lists the current benefits and terms. Read vlt’s Terms of Use and applicable product terms before relying on the service.

You are viewing: vlt Open Source Maintainer Program

Goal: Project support. Model: Infrastructure. Status: Live.

Should you use this?

Best for
Projects whose main blocker is hosting, CI, storage, AI tooling, or operational overhead.
Not ideal for
Projects that need direct maintainer income rather than cost reduction.
Why choose it
Free vlt Pro access with 10 GB monthly usage and priority support for qualifying JavaScript and Node.js maintainers. Applications are reviewed; renewal depends on continued active maintenance.
Watch out for
Credits and tooling reduce burden but usually do not fund maintainer time directly.
Setup effort
Low
Fees
Approved maintainers receive a free Pro account with 10 GB/month of storage and delivery usage, valued by vlt at $120/year. The program page does not specify pricing or treatment for usage above the 10 GB/month allowance.
Last verified
2026-10-27
Official websiteVisit official website
VerificationVerified on 2026-10-27
OrganizationCorporation
Open source statusCommercial platform with open source products and a maintainer-support program
Platform technologyPackage manager and package registry platform
Monetization modelFree vlt Pro account and monthly storage and delivery usage for approved maintainers
Platform feesApproved maintainers receive a free Pro account with 10 GB/month of storage and delivery usage, valued by vlt at $120/year. The program page does not specify pricing or treatment for usage above the 10 GB/month allowance.
User activityApplications are reviewed on a rolling basis; approved accounts renew annually at no cost while recipients actively maintain open source.